All reviews of ManageEngine Desktop Central

Read recent reviews and users’ true-life stories ManageEngine Desktop Central. Due to the customer feedback, you will learn more about the benefits and drawbacks of the service, in terms of operability, usability, technical support and a lot more.

T
TIMOTHY G.

«Positive overall»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Clean interface. Easy to find most information. Some nice tools included, would like to see more tools like remote registry viewer.

Drawbacks:

Help file is a bit limited. Online KBs and forums are average to OK. Support for non-critical items is responsive enough. Worried that "live" support for emergency items (i.e. DC is not starting, database problem, problem during upgrade, etc.) is not easily available via phone (I have not had to contact support about a critical issue to date).

In sum:

Better control of our desktop/endpoint environment for support, patches, and configuration pushes... all at a fair price.

October 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Julian H.

«I like it»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Control of overall environment, from patch management to deploy OS, this is a good service I can see all the computer on my network and security them installing the patches and also see what user name is using the pc

Drawbacks:

not much friendly to use, I can see many options around if you find a better way to make this friendly and easy to use this product is going to be the best

In sum:

Update and Secure PC, and make my life easier troubleshooting the computers

September 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
W
Wilson C.

«Very important and useful automation tool for IT.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of use, available feature to monitor status of specific computer desktop, server and laptop. As part of my job, to ensure 100% software patches are applied and monitored this application is very important to me or must have.

Drawbacks:

Poor support, raised a simple recurring issue (which suddenly occured) but no sulotion even remotely checked and provided the logs but still no clear guidance on how to correct. We have software patches for some reason cannot be distributed to computer desktops. We can manully download from the server and iinstall manually with no issue.

In sum:

It automates a lot of things that takes time to manually do it. In simple words, it saved enormous time, energy, money and definitely increase productivity.

September 20, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Brian M.

«ManageEngine DC is an easy to use patch management and computer administration suite.»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

ManageEngine was easy to install and update. It's easy to use, feature rich and has a good support as well as an online community and knowledge base. Patching info is current and addresses specific exploits and patches. Program contains tutorial links for training of specific features from within application as well as links to request support, chat with a rep and feature requests.

Drawbacks:

Support staff is polite and knowledgeable but can be a little slow to respond during ongoing correspondences

September 15, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
P
Pascal D.

«RBFA»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of use. Super OS and patch deployment, the overviews and the reports. Quick help on each page. Deploy of software. Mobile device management.

Drawbacks:

The error messaging, most of the times to general. Quick help not always sufficient. The help websites, not clear enough to find your way.

In sum:

The best tool so far in my career, modular, great support.

September 14, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
H
HAKAN A.

«Practical solution for windows updates and software deploy»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

ready-made templates provide convenience easy to understand interface software installations are pretty fast ready reports handy remote restart or remote connection features are fine

Drawbacks:

dashboard cannot be changed screen transitions are slow filters are not useful

September 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
P
Philipp M.

«Excellent product! Compared to other ME products also very few bugs. Support should be improved.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

- stable - ease of use - value for Money is excellent!!! - covers (almost) all our endpoint management Needs - steady improvement in functionality

Drawbacks:

Technical Support should be improved! The technicians seem very knowledgeable! Anyhow, I miss the personal contact to the Support engineers. I don't like how, in a Support session, the technician connects to my PC and starts clicking around and Chat through Notepad. Any other vendor's Support technician would give me a call and stay on the phone while Troubleshooting Problems. It's a great way to learn about the product for me, and for the technician it may also be usefull as I may help the technician by providing Details more easely. I think that it would improve the Support process drastically. I really dislike the way Support works at the Moment!

In sum:

Huge time savings in supporting our end users!

August 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«The right tool for the job»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

- Ease of use - Remote support capabilities - Asset management functionality - Integration with Service Desk Plus - Overall information available - Automated patch deployment and management

Drawbacks:

A lot to take in at first. It's very feature rich which can be somewhat intimidating at first. It almost seems like some of the functionality could be simplified somewhat.

In sum:

You really only are as good as the tools you have available. This is one of the best tools to manage hardware, software, and end users as well as troubleshooting systems. It makes my job much easier than other tools I have used in the past!

August 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Anurag k.

«Works perfectly for me to manage and monitor several devices »

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

There are several things I loved about Desktop Central like the ability to automate the patching of OS, automatic scanning and installation of latest service packs for OS, imaging of OS to protect my devices from security vulnerabilities. It also allows me to install and uninstall necessary softwares remotely with many of its useful features and built-in templates. A few more useful features are also there including Power management to switch the devices On or Off remotely and to get reports of device's Up-time( to know from how many hours they are turned On). One of the best things about Desktop Central is that they provide me the ability to control all of my devices even from my Mobile Phone, there mobile application is well optimized and works perfectly fine. I can also set my computers and other devices to be used by specific Users and for specific roles by granting them limited access to the device's features and functions. My workflow increases when I can easily transfer files, shoot and record photos and videos from all of my devices using a Single device because of Remote sharing feature of Desktop Central. They provide a One month free trial with all of their features, so that one can easily understand and get used to with their application.

Drawbacks:

The only thing I would like to say to Manageengine is that they should fix the pricing for Desktop Central, a small organization or a small firm can't easily afford this much expensive solution for them. Though, I think Desktop Central already offers to get a price Quote to their customers according to their need.

In sum:

Being a Game Developer and Digital Media Producer, I always need a solution to perfectly control and manage all of my desktop and mobile devices and Desktop Central is what I really found as an intuitive and innovative solution to do it. I can easily operate my devices, monitor their usage, install system updates, manage installation of softwares, share files within the systems etc very easily from a single device just because of Desktop Central which is far better when compared to its competitors. Desktop Central allows me to run its application even on my 32-bit system. It also has a mobile application which works smoothly.

August 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Michael A.

«Free to use for up to 25 computers - A really good time saving tool»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

What I like most about ManageEngine Desktop Central is that it scans all our Windows computers on our network, and checks and reports on which computers require Windows Updates.

Drawbacks:

Sometimes the Windows Server component of ManageEngine Desktop Central does not start up on boot, and has to be started manually. It means after a reboot of the server, sometimes we do not notice the ManageEngine Desktop Central server hasn't started up and we do not receive reports for a few days.

In sum:

We have been using ManageEngine Desktop Central for a few years, and are still on the free tier that allows up to 25 computers to be managed. The primary purpose we had for installing it was to make sure all our computers have the latest Windows Updates installed. This is important to keep all our computers secure. It has been working well and I would recommend anyone with an office to use this software.

July 28, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Desktop Central: Tech Perspective»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

This software is really good shut the price and features it comes with. Replaces a lot of tools we have had to mismatch and put together all in one.

Drawbacks:

The user interface and language of the site is somewhat confusing and not intuitive. They have a log guides that help. Just not as intuitive as I had hoped.

In sum:

Overall it is a good product and accomplishes our purposes.

July 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Kyle G.

«Great product for managing small/medium size businesses»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

All the features I have seen in other products brought together into one. Software deployment is essential and easy.

Drawbacks:

Need a better mobile app. Needs to have more functionality when mobile.

July 18, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
E
ERKAN A.

«Desctop Central for ITSM»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

User friendly, Best dashboards and interface, Best patch management, RDP to computers by secure gateway from everywhere

Drawbacks:

License management needs further improvement. It takes a lot of license inventory for a program. Example: Dessault Systems (Catia)

In sum:

We are generally satisfied. We are also pleased with the fast technical support provided by the business pastner Vitel.

July 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Michael W.

«A Product that actually does what you paid for, and then does even more!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The product does an amazing job performing the update of server and desktop operating systems and software. What is surprising is all the additional things it does, and the features that they keep adding into the product. Examples over the years includes adding in things like mobile device management, review of each box for vulnerabilities, showing issue and problems with the boxes that are both correctable and not correctable by the patching functions.

Drawbacks:

Upon some tasks they will show failure or a pending action, however they do not then update those status in the queue. I think this is done from a compliance standpoint, but there should be a function added to specifically address a job that's been run, been incomplete and then a pending follow-up action.

In sum:

I have used this program now between three different companies that I have worked in, two of which I made the recommendation that it be purchased. I am impressed with the product, but also with the development and support team. Its not uncommon for me to send them a question and have an answer back in less then 24 hours. They also have a wonderful ability to take feedback and then have it show up in the product in very little time.

July 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Barry C.

«Great overall product, has completely changed how we deploy and manage our software. »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Software deployment is great and Simple to use, the software portal has really decreased the amount of IT tickets we receive in relation to software requests. The tools are also very useful, we have setup reboot polices to force updates to install and set up remote control so we don't need to run around the building. We found the patch management module easy and quicker to use than WSUS and the reports are also more specific.

Drawbacks:

No software portal for mac. License management is tricky to use as it is based on the product and version, some software has multiple versions depending on install date so can be hard to track. Would like to see better reporting in regards to USB device management particularly for drives

In sum:

The biggest benefit for us was the software deployment piece, ve were previously deploying through GPO

July 13, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Joe R.

«Fantastic endpoint and even server management»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Gives us the ability to monitor and run reports on all of our end points. The higher end component for OS Deployment has made PXE booting and loading as easy as clicking a few buttons. We can now deploy images on new or redeployable PCs in under 10 minutes and have a user setup and working in about 20 or less. Patch scanning and remote software deployment are amazing. Configuration changes like USB drive locking, printer or other kinds of things can be managed for better security. Documentation is fantastic with a large KB site.

Drawbacks:

Can be difficult to figure out some things. Some areas are accessible through multiple different ways to get there. Some areas can be a bit convoluted.

In sum:

This has helped me so much that when I started in a new company I made sure to get it for our deployments and management, it was easier to do since they didn't have one. Everyone I introduce this to thinks it is amazing.

July 12, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Nothing Comes Close To Zoho Corp and Desktop Central Price Per Value and Feature Wise»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Nothing comes close to Manage Central when price per value is obvserved with the only issues being that it is a lot of information all at once, and that it has many configuration abilities and options. I have used this solution for a couple months now, but my experience with Zoho SaaS has been spectacular with 0% downtime on my original site I launched as a side project being 0 in 386 days! Would recommend this to anyone looking for a serious solution, and even to hobbyists and home lab users just looking to try something out!

Drawbacks:

Software is extremely customizable and granular, but has a sharper learning curve than a click and deploy solution. However the extra configurability is crucial in fields that require compliance, governance and hard coded security with a clear and present chain of command.

July 8, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Kapil U.

«A unified endpoint management solution for omnichannel users for managing various s/w implementation»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of deploying the software to multiple devices with in minutes have saved cost, time and manpower for the organization

Drawbacks:

Customizing the dashboard and reports control could have been more user friendly.

In sum:

The ease of software deployment has been a cake walk. It has reduced the time efficiency by leaps and bounds. The performance of the software is a huge plus point

July 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Aaron W.

«So many useful features that you don't get with a normal Windows Domain controller»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

There are so many useful features in Desktop Central. My favourite features are: - Being able to remotely wake up and shut down computers - Inventory history showing hardware changes - Reports of which user logged onto which computers, which really helps find who works at which desk

Drawbacks:

The updating routine for getting the latest version of Desktop Central is very tedious, requiring a backup, shut down, downloading a file, and then manually running a patch installer. I would like to see an automatic updater, but perhaps it is for those who are very strict about software installations.

In sum:

We use Desktop Central as it offers so many extra features, as I mentioned in my first paragraph. These features are really useful and save so much time.

July 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Charles N.

«Makes Asset management from the cloud easy!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I like how easy it is to use as this helps with implementing access to our help desk as well. They can easily access machines with remote control access and software deployment.

Drawbacks:

I would like to be able to fully customize reboot settings.

In sum:

Overall, Desktop Central allows me to more easily manage patching, software deployment and asset management via the cloud. Desktop Central is a huge improvement over our previous asset management system.

July 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Ben M.

«Excellent management solution for small companies without the baggage and up-sell of the big guys»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The cross platform coverage is not just lip service. We manage Linux, Mac, and Windows machines on equal footing.

Drawbacks:

The weakest area of DesktopCentral would be realtime scripting and diagnostics. Software analysis and reporting is sub par. There are gaps in functionality where the system is gathering certain data points, but you cannot report of script based upon them. For example, you cannot search machines for active processes. Most of this can be worked around, but is inefficient.

In sum:

We have been extremely successful, and the software has really come through when we needed it. It has streamlined our onboarding as well. Additionally, the software is improving over time. Performance is strongly better today than when we started with the platform.

July 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
R
Rishi K.

«Excellent Product »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Customer Service is truly amazing they'll get to you in less than a minute which is awesome and this product is absolutely recommended.

Drawbacks:

Never had any issues so far a little gui issue which are fixed very promptly.

In sum:

Perfect

June 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Muhammad F.

«ManageEngine Desktop Central Review»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of deployment, Ease of patch management

Drawbacks:

OS Image creating part is bit difficult.

In sum:

Overall, I am a satisfied administrator of this product for my organization.

June 11, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
P
Peter T.

«The One-Stop-Shop to star centralizing Desktop Mangement and more»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I knwo Manage engine products for a longtime, before they sneaked unter ZOHO hoods, but just for test and integrations with vendors I was working for. now, running my own business, was looking for an easy to use solution for myself and my tenants. als requirements are fulfilled. which are primarily: remote support and patch management and MDM (more to come, integrate) the ease of use, many features combined in one Web UI, useful add-ons to Microsoft build-in tools. one agent for a lot of functionality, not for each and every feature a dedicated tool or agent. remote access to clients, supp

Drawbacks:

- what could be better would be remote printing capability would be a nice feature, this is missing to comparable product for remote support/access ... - Ui a little bit better modernized, sometimes switches and radio buttons are not highlighted enough

In sum:

I wanted to get an overview of the scattered software landscape of my tenants and even more information about their security and patch levels. as well as getting an providing remote access for support and maintenance

May 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Dean R.

«Desktop Central - Invaluable to us!»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Software deployment and patching is a breeze! The fact we can use a secure gateway server to connect to home user PCs over the internet is a lifesaver!

Drawbacks:

Sometimes tricky to get what we would consider to something simple added to the product. Upgrades can be tricky but support has assisted every time we've had an issue. Unable to use OS deployment due to how it works, but we have InTune and Autopilot for this so it's never been a showstopper for us.

In sum:

100s of users started working from home in the last year due to the pandemic and being able to remote control their desktops to assist has been a real boon to us.

May 18, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Tries to do too many things»

Usability

Support

Features

2

Overall rating

Benefits:

Useful dashboard for inventory of hardware and software.

Drawbacks:

Patching is extremely complicated compared to competitors. Agents deployed to endpoints consume large amount of CPU and RAM. Customer support is a small team with most tickets taking 3 days minimum. Every case starts with uploading logs. Product patches are being released constantly to fix the large number of bugs in software. Bandwidth management for remote offices does not function well and will easily consume an entire circuit. If this happens it is difficult to stop the traffic until the action has completed. Small mistakes can have big consequences when configuring deployments.

In sum:

This product advertises a lot of features and functionalities that try to make the solution a one-stop shop for IT departments. Unfortunately none of the features work well or work at all. When compared with other patching solutions, software deployment solutions and help desk toolsets, it falls flat on its face and does not meet the demands of an enterprise sized organization. Support staff is foreign based and can be very difficult working against the language barriers or trying to explain the problem even though they appear to be trying to help.

May 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
R
Raheel I.

«ManageEngine desktop central»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Best endpoint management solution Patch management, software deployment, It asset management,desktop configuration are easy to use and fulfill customer requirement.

Drawbacks:

Software deployment and patch management are core part of this product

In sum:

We are managing more then 400 desktop with desktop central. Its vere easy to manage and do any deployment by desktop central.

May 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
W
William S.

«Increased mobile users required us to move to a cloud solution.»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

As COVID hit our company we suddenly went from about 40% remote users to 100% remote users. As a company we have always deployed laptops to our users but most of them were in the corporate office regularly. With COVID that changed and degraded our ability to know vulnerability levels and to ensure all systems were patched. We have deployed the in-house Vulnerability Manager Plus from Manage Engine but with users not always on VPN getting up to date information on laptops was difficult. Moving to the cloud solution was a great option for us as it had most of the capabilities of the inhouse system in use with the benefit added features like system inventory, remote management and always on connectivity through the cloud.

Drawbacks:

There really isn't anything I like about this software.

In sum:

My overall experience has been great. The product is easy to use and helpdesk support is always quick and friendly.

May 5, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Daniel H.

«Brilliant system that is constantly updated with new features»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

The system is cheap, reliable, integrates with our Servicedesk well and constantly has new features added to it

Drawbacks:

When a new update is released, their quality control can sometimes be lacking. there's always several issues such as not being able to search, not being able to sort, not being able to connect to PCs (these issues were just in the last 2 months). Even though we have the Enterprise version (that's supposed to include everything), In the last 2 years, they've released a couple of Add-ons... They seem to ignore the fact that we paid for the enterprise level to get everything included, and are seperating everything that they can so that we have to continue spending

In sum:

Customer service is usually really good. most issues are resolved within a couple of hours. if logs have to be sent, I'd give them 4-5 days

April 28, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Chris T.

«Desktop Central is a great all-rounder at a good price»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I was looking originally to improve the patching capability for software on our laptops, which are not connected to a domain. Desktop Central absolutely did that - but it gave me so much more, such as inventory, software reporting, MDM and more functions that I knew I needed but had put onto the longer-term roadmap. With Desktop Central able to cover these things too, I know I'm going to be able to roll them out quickly.

Drawbacks:

There is very little to complain about. If I was going to nit-pick, I'd say that the UI might be a little more intuitive than it is. The same is true of the knowledge base - it isn't bad, but it isn't simple. However, UI complexity is the cost of having a highly-featured product, so this is not a big complaint.

In sum:

Very good!

April 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Archna S.

«Desktop Central offers the best features to manage multiple devices from a Central device.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Desktop Central offers a lot of features to effectively manage several devices anytime from single Central Device. Some of the most helpful features are Turn On/Off the controlled devices, Operating System patch management, installation and deployment of Softwares, file transfer using Remote Sharing etc. Desktop Central allows patching, imaging and deploying of OS, which helps a lot in keeping all the devices safe from known/unknown Security threats by remote upgradation. Desktop Central also allows us to monitor several things like Login History, Software and Hardware Changes etc which helps our organization a lot in monitoring the use of our devices. Overall, we can have full control over all of our devices easily and effectively from a single Central Powered Device anytime.

Drawbacks:

A few things I think should be improved with Desktop Central is their Customer Support Service. Recently, some people from our organization were having trouble with Desktop Central but the Customer Support team was not effectively helping them out. Though, the problem has now been solved because we went through their Guides and Documentations and figured out how to fix things up.

In sum:

Our organization is using Desktop Central to manage all of our devices including devices with Windows and Mac OS, Android and iOS devices from a single Device. Desktop Central has allowed us to give the Power of controlling all the devices to a Single Central Device which can be operated by Senior IT managers. We can manage Software installation, patching and deployment with ease. We can also monitor who is using what device and when, means we can easily monitor our devices using Desktop Central. The pricing perfectly fits our need, also we can get Quote to best explain our requirements and get an even perfect subscription from them. They also provide a 30 day trial to effectively understand and evaluate the complete product.

April 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Comprehensive Desktop Management Solution»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

ManageEngine Desktop Central is a robust set of tools that allow s you to deploy, automate, and support your end user's device with a simple to manage interface. Before using ManageEngine my team used a wide variety of tools and a lot of 'hands-on' involvement to maintain our diverse set of end-user equipment, but, with Desktop Central we are able to deploy images, software, manage patches, set security policies, and provide remote support all from one central location.

Drawbacks:

The setup can be a little overwhelming at first due to all of the configuration and features. While the support team was good and very friendly, it would be better if there is more standardized KBs and how-to videos to help support some of the advanced functions.

In sum:

ManageEngine Desktop Central has helped us improve our overall technical and operational support to staff and further, helped consolidate software and resources.

March 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Thomas B.

«Manage Engine in Lafert»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

the easy way to manage the devices and reporting the integration with other product like Service Desk (that we have already implemented)

Drawbacks:

i have some issues with the Mobile Device Management, i'm not able to understand why certain policies were applied not to all the device of the target group.

In sum:

i'm really happy of this product, i can have a full control of our assets. it was very easy to deploy and i like the possibility to manage also the mobile devices.

March 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Rob B.

«Great all-in-one management platform»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

- Centralised patch management - Vulnerability and threat management works pretty well - Excellent, responsive support team - Once you get used to how it works, it's pretty robust and nice to use - Nice MDM, desktop, laptop and mobile management all in one place

Drawbacks:

- It takes a while to get your head around how updates are applied - it is quite 'batchy' - The MDM UI is sometimes a bit confusing

In sum:

We initially replaced our WSUS system with DC, then expanded it out to cover MDM (replacing Meraki) and vulnerability scanning.

March 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Brad S.

«Great all in one solutions for ITSM»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of use, cloud deployment, and the ability to remotely administer alot of machines.

Drawbacks:

Sometimes agent installation on new machines can be a hassle, but really its generally great

In sum:

I treat Desktop Central as another employee in my team, it does the workload of 10 employees.

March 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
MOHAMED SHIHAM I.

«best MDM and Desktop laptop monitoring tool»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

manage all desktop laptop from a single platform, user can enroll by themself from the portal

Drawbacks:

it should synchronize data with Asset explorer , but that option is not available, MDM is not supporting linux

In sum:

best MDM and patch management system can monitor the devices from one plat form

March 12, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
David A.

«Desktop Central»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

For me, the most useful part of the software is patch management. I love how easy and efficiently I can push out updates.

Drawbacks:

When patches fail there isn't always details on why, just that it failed. For instance, if a patch fails to download, it says it failed to download but doesn't offer any further explanation other than a link to documentation, which isn't always helpful and I end up creating a support ticket.

In sum:

Patch management. Remote desktop assistance. Hardware and Software inventory. Basic license management.

March 3, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
G
Girish B.

«Best In the business-Desktop Management»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ability to patch all the applications used over the organizations, Software Deployment with Self Service Portal for users,Security Policies & USB Management for security purpose & Most liked feature is Inventory module.

Drawbacks:

The Agent communication period of 90 Minutes.

In sum:

Helped to be compliant at audit level & maintain the inventory details.

March 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Dylan M.

«One of the easiest to use management systems yet powerful as well»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I had started with Maas360 and every part of that seemed to be confusing and poorly laid out. With DesktopCentral that wasn't the case. It was easy to find what I needed after a very short time of poking around and trying things out.

Drawbacks:

About the only thing I can think of at the moment would be that that the mobile devices are separate from the inventory. It made the integration of the 2 products seem less integrated. But this was, to be honest a minor issue to me.

In sum:

We went from having a few devices in a few close locations to 100's of devices located across multiple states. Having a reliable and simple way to manage these devices has made my job 1000 times easier.

February 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
P
Philippe M.

«Good alternative to SCCM with complete features»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Easy installation on premiss , a little less on Azure. Templates are available if needed. Many option ad cool feature from distribution of software to remote control. Managine MDM , server and workstation is very easy once setup.

Drawbacks:

No integration with Azure Active directory, still base on Active directory setup for the workstation? Management little tricky with on a cloud based domain. Groupe poicies and update management not easy to remove.

In sum:

All in one management system. Easy to setup and interesting cost

February 18, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
R
Rajneesh B.

«Heterogeneous End-point Management from a Unified Console »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

More control, Power to you, whilst deploying SW Deployment, OS Patching and even MDM, all can be achieved from a single console. Not to mention, OS Deployment & Imaging are offered free for all Workstation & Servers. Gartner listed, Awesome support very Proactive indeed.

Drawbacks:

None at all. Out-of-box product features have nothing to complaint about. We love everything that DesktopCentral UEM has to offer.

In sum:

Easy to use UI, Online help and chat support, Great community support. Overall, quick to learn and easy Setup.

February 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Jim L.

«An Absolutely Essential IT Support Solution for Small to Large Environments»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

From third party program installation and management to remote computer management, Desktop Central is an indispensable solution. - Managing third party software is greatly simplified with Patch Management and Software Deployment. - Full system Inventory, with Manage Licenses, Software Metering and automated system Scan. - Remote Control allows remote desktop support, essential for today's IT support. - A robust set of reports that can be scheduled and emailed. - Integrates with Service Desk Plus to automatically create service tickets, and email alerts can be created. - The Free version is fully functional and a great solution for small offices with a limited budget.

Drawbacks:

I have been using Desktop Central at my current position for 4 years. I cannot live without Desktop Central, or several other Manage Engine products! It is essential for IT to know what their network condition is, maintain its optimum health, and provide end user remote support. Desktop Central is only one of many Manage Engine products that allows IT support to do this.

In sum:

See above! I mainly use Desktop Central to maintain third party applications (non-Microsoft). I also provide periodic remote desktop support for a few users, including one who works from home, like I do. It would take me hours to drive to the office or user's location! . Especially in this last year, Desktop Central and a couple other Manage Engine products have been essential for me to provide support for a small office that is struggling financially to keep its doors open. I cannot say enough good things about this and the the other Manage Engine products.

February 14, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Dale S.

«MEDC is an important tool for us.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Inventory features. Makes it really easy to see what PC's are running and who is using them. Login history, Windows patching, software inventories, warranty information (except for HP) and a great built in RDP feature. This software makes life a LOT easier. Its pricing is pretty competitive for everything it offers. We have stuck with it for almost 3 years and don't plan to switch away unless there is a drastic change in its price or functionality. So far I would give it a solid 9.5/10.

Drawbacks:

When you hit your license limit, if you don't realize it, and you do another installation, removing the license from an unused computer doesn't activate the one you were initially trying to activate. Often requiring you to jump through a little bit of hoops to get it going. Always make sure you have a free license prior to the install. The only other thing I would truly consider a con is some of the features are more buried then they should be, and its not always immediately obvious where your going to find what you are looking for. Once you have used it for a while, you get used to it though and its a non-issue.

In sum:

Patching is a breeze. RDP has saved me a lot of headaches since I don't always remember the FQDN of every machine in the building. Helps let me know if systems are down. Overall its a tool I cant live without at this point.

February 11, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
R
Raghu P.

«Modules Marketing »

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Desktop central patch management and Remote control

Drawbacks:

License inventory and audit logs , Limitation on license part on OS deployment.

In sum:

They sell a base product and keep on adding the modules which is expensive. Technician license is an unfair purchase. No support on weekends

January 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Alvaro P.

«Your All-in-One Solution»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I love the fact that this software gets updates and upgrades periodically. I do appreciate the nice remote capabilities, the option to roll out your own image, MS Updates, asset management and great reports. Its my everyday tool for helping out end users and doing all my IT duties! Its an amazing tool! I am waiting for the day that they add Purchase Orders to the Manage Engine Suite.

Drawbacks:

Some upgrades might catch you by surprise since the design and the buttons change here and there, but I do understand the process of making things better for the IT Professional. Can be a bit expensive if you add all the tools to the suite. Better bundles should be added to the list of suggestions.

In sum:

I really can't leave without Manage Engine. It's my everyday Go-To tool for all my needs. You guys are doing a great job improving the software.

January 11, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«How Zia can Facilitate everyone's work.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

It is one of the most useful and handful Unified Endpoint Management tools. The compatibility to be used on all operating systems is an advantage, and the ability to apply and remove licenses remotely to all endpoints that are being managed at the company can make work easy for both users and system admins.

Drawbacks:

Computer imaging has a lot of capability, but it also has a lot of flaws. The cause of the failure is unknown, but it takes a lot of maintenance to keep it running. There's a lot more this tool can do, but it's important to focus on the process's stability first to ensure that fundamental skills are addressed before adding new features.

In sum:

Operating and managing Desktop Central remotely is a luxury that can make things happen at a snap of a finger, I will definitely recommend this product and will be looking for additional features that might come in the future to make it more powerful.

January 10, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Desk Central»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

This product was easy for me to implement several years ago. Whenever I have problems, it's very easy to contact their support team and when i do they are very responsive. If a feature isn't there that I'd like to have, they also make a serious effort to see it implemented in the future. For what it does, it's very cost-effective and an extremely beneficial tool to have at my disposal as the lead tech in our organization. If it wasn't available I feel it would be extremely difficult to replace with anything product anywhere near its price range, and I'd likely lose features as well.

Drawbacks:

No product is perfect, and there's a few features I'd like to have added, but at least they make an honest effort to hear my concerns whenever i have them. I really can't think of much of anything else that I'd criticize them for, and I'm very happy with it.

In sum:

It's almost all positive. It allows me to stay of top of all software patching, both Windows and 3rd-party. That's the single largest benefit. But in addition it allows quickly implement group policy-like configurations, effectively block thumb drives, reboot all machines on a set schedule, view a complete inventory of all hardware and software, search for specific software that's installed, implement quick changes to all machines when needed, like registry ones, and many others.

January 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Mark B.

«Total control over ALL endpoints»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

ME Desktop Central gives me total control over every device in our organization -- desktop and mobile -- whether in a domain or workgroup, including both Windows, Mac, Android and Linux. Deploy configurations, software and even OSes. Connect remotely to user sessions or command prompt and even Windows registry. Patch management is top notch! Mobile Device Management is second to none (UEM Edition). Works well with the new features included in Windows Endpoint Management Portal (formerly Intune).

Drawbacks:

ManageEngine Desktop Central has absolutely zero cons.

In sum:

It's a superb product if you are looking to dominate every aspect of endpoint management, both on mobile and desktop hardware!

January 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
W
Wayne S.

«The products provide a lot of value to organizations, and easily compete with the top vendors.»

Usability

Support

Features

3

Overall rating

Benefits:

There are lots of solutions/modules available to help manage IT from an enterprise perspective. Could value on the small amount of resources needed to operate the solution.

Drawbacks:

We encounter ongoing challenges when trying to work with the Sales part of this company. It is very frustrating to deal with sales when trying to buy more than one module. Every module seems to have its own sales team that do not talk to the other sales teams. Worst part of the product.

January 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
E
Eugene L.

«Absolutely the must in any Environment (and a great pricing as well) »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

All-in-One tool, Inventory, Security, Encryption, Patch management, MDM, Modern Management, Remote Access, Software Deployment - it's a "swiss knife" for any IT department. What makes Desktop Central great is that you have everything to manage your servers, endpoints, in all aspects of it just from a single tool. No need for a multi-server deployment, very easy to deploy and manage. It just works! Logically, easy and very user/admin friendly

Drawbacks:

Sometimes it takes a while to get a new functionality implemented or some existing functionality to be improved. MacOS support sometimes takes a while to "catch up" with new OS releases (even though Apple does provide access to "betas" to pretty much anybody). It would be great to have an edition were all the modules and addons (including Security one) would be already included (we would definitely go for it). Virtualization Modules, VDI management would be a great addition as well

In sum:

I've been using DesktopCentral since version 9 and I can see how this product evolves into a great, a "must have" tool for any organization. There is quite a competition exists, especially with Microsoft Intune (even though Intune does not provide all the functionality that DesktopCentral has) - it's free for E5 customers. We rely on DesktopCentral in our day to day work and it's our primary tool for endpoint + server management. Absolutely helpful tool. I must also mention Support - to have support options via chat - is a great idea, always available and always helpful.

December 20, 2020
Feedback source: the Internet

Reviews of similar software