All reviews of TRUCE

Read recent reviews and users’ true-life stories TRUCE. Due to the customer feedback, you will learn more about the benefits and drawbacks of the service, in terms of operability, usability, technical support and a lot more.

M
Mike C.

«Best way to protect myself and my Company»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It absolutely does what they say it does. It will stop all data from going to your phones. My drivers now can concentrate on driving and not being distracted. It is a piece of mind that I now have that we will not be pulled into a distracted driving incident.

Drawbacks:

They had an issue in the beginning with one of my guys phone. He contacted them and they did not stop fixing it until the matter was solved.

In sum:

I solved the liability that I know is out there. Watching so many companies let their drivers talk and use their phones wile driving is disturbing. When a driver starts with us the first thing we do is go over our Cellcontrol plan with them.

October 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
John P.

«Cell Control Review»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

I love that it blocks any access to email, texts, and the internet.

Drawbacks:

As with any technology, there are some issues with team members having units that need to have the batteries replaced, and will need to plug in their unit.

In sum:

Overall our experience has been very beneficial. Our preventive accidents have decreased.

October 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Kevin H.

«Cellcontrol makes all the difference!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Cellcontrol does exactly what you want it to do for your drivers... stop distracted driving.

Drawbacks:

The Cellcontrol unit adhesive can not stand up to the Arizona sun. We have to re-install them using a more robust adhesive.

In sum:

We have not had any at fault vehicle accidents since installing Cellcontrol over 2 years ago. We used to have 5-6 accidents per year with over 40 vehicles on the road. Our insurance company now loves us.

September 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Bruno B.

«Fleet»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

We have over 80 vehicles in our fleet and this was very easy to deploy.

Drawbacks:

Nothing in particular stands out as something that we do not like.

September 9, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Matt K.

«Matts review»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

We have cellcontrol on about 100 phones at our company. Other than an issue I detail below, CellControl 100% meets our need. With safety being #1 priority this is a no-brianer. The cost is reasonable and customer support has been good. Some at our company say it works too well! :)

Drawbacks:

All aspects of cell control are great other than some issues with iphones. Those seem to have an on-going issue with connectivity or installing. We could give more details and would love this to get fixed! We are primarily android users but if this was not the case this would be a bigger issue.

In sum:

Overall working with CellControl has been a good experience. From the initial sale, to implementation CellControl's team has been quick to respond and helpful. The software makes us MUCH more confident our team is not distracted while driving!

September 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Hunter G.

«Effective market leader»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ability to whitelist certain numbers (for calling only...all texts are blocked while driving) was a plus. They offer both a bluetooth windshield solar powered device (for when a phone should only be blocked in a specific vehicle) or a phone app that will block in all vehicles, regardless. Our sales agent and phone support was particularly helpful.

Drawbacks:

Of the 10 phones using the bluetooth windshield device, only 1 had issues with bluetooth connectivity. It kept trying to connect to the vehicle itself. I did not have time to resolve the issue. If the windshield is ever replaced the risk is the windshield device gets lost.

In sum:

Positive support from a market leader with flexible options and a user friendly interface.

August 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
F
Frank H.

«Safety & Risk Coordinator»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

It is user friendly when it comes to being an Administrator for Users, Devices, and Triggers. Along with creating specific Policies, along with easy to manage adjustments through the reports.

Drawbacks:

The Tracking needs some improvement. When Data is behind the Tracking is behind.

In sum:

Overall, it does its job! In 10 Months our vehicles have driven a total of 372,157 miles, and during those miles driven we have blocked 3,331 calls, 11,899 texts (SMS), and blocked 40,143 apps. Our Employees are not distracted with their phones while driving. After installing Cell Control, we can confidently say that we have not encountered an "at fault" vehicle accident since then, and it is a good feeling knowing that our employees are Safer doing their job.

August 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Thomas J.

«Serves it's purpose »

Usability

Support

Features

2

Overall rating

Benefits:

It does what it's supposed to do.

Drawbacks:

Sometimes, it fails to come out of restriction mode on its own.

July 29, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
L
Lalo H.

«Driver Performance Monitoring»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Notifications - timely and informative. Easy to deploy.

Drawbacks:

Easy to disable. Maps do not indicate posted speeds.

In sum:

Its been a useful tool in keeping our drivers in check. Warnings have been given to drivers with consistent low scores.

July 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Z
Zach M.

«Cell control works amazing! »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The software does exactly what it is supposed to do! It blocks use of the phone while driving. Our business opted for the hardware trigger in addition to the application because of the increased accuracy and other reporting functions. It almost works too well. I say this because I was shocked at how often I reached for my phone instinctively while driving, only to be reminded by Cell Control that it is not safe. This application is changing our work culture for the better! I would highly recommend this.

Drawbacks:

It's hard for me to come up with Cons for this software. If I had to find one though, it would be the manual steps a user has to take to enable access to the phone for the application to work properly. There are sometimes 7-8 steps that has to happen for it to function. We had to write up detailed instructions for our employees in order to ensure that most could install the app properly.

In sum:

We drove over 2.5 million miles last year with 220 trucks. This app ensures that our drivers stay alert and focus on driving. The added benefit is the decreased accidents due to distracted driving and the increased safety of our drivers on the road!

July 19, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Fleet Manager»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Easy to use, came loaded in the portal prior to receiving. Easy instructions on how to install. Good reporting and Easy to use poretal as well.

Drawbacks:

Batteries can melt under high temperatures in the truck or car.

In sum:

Overall I would say its good. We are 6 months into the rollout so we will see.

July 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Q
Quentin J.

«Quentin Johnson review of Cellcontrol»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It works. It doesn't allow my drivers to do anything they shouldn't. Very effective.

Drawbacks:

Set up can be difficult and have found bugs for certain users. The issues have been quickly resolved by support.

In sum:

Best tech out there and there CSR is very helpful.

June 12, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Darryl I.

«Distracted driving initiative»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Very easy to use, almost completely automatic which makes it easy for anyone.

Drawbacks:

Takes a little to long for it to turn off after the vehicle is stopped/turned off.

In sum:

As company that strives to eliminated distracted driving, this product takes the guess work out of who may or may not be driving distracted. It has driven our numbers down over 90%. Great product.

June 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«The Best»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It is easy to set up and install. Customer service was great. Website and daily emails show me all the information I need.

Drawbacks:

I have not had any problems or dislikes so far.

In sum:

We have solved the problem of people talking on their phones without hands free headsets. We don't have to worry about text messages coming through to our drivers and causing them to be distracted.

June 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Michael W.

«Cellcontrol Review»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It serves its function well creating habits of no cell phones and safer driving.

Drawbacks:

I do not like that sometimes random notifications get through, and also the cornering is very strict also come of the speed limits arnt correct and you dont have an option to put in a ticket to get a speed changed.

In sum:

Overall i have noticed a very big different in my driving and not being distracted by technology overall i really am impressed.

June 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
S
Scott L.

«Cellcontrol crushes distracted driving (at least with a cell phone).»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It is easy to use, and saves our company big on preventing accidents & improving driver safety, and not just with the cell phones. With the telemetry data we collect, we are able to enforce driving policies and get a very good idea of how individual drivers act behind the wheel. We are also curbing aggressive driving and speeding, thank to Cellcontrol.

Drawbacks:

There is occasional issues with tracking (telemetry) data, but it can be resolved by making sure drivers have the most up to date version of software, and have enabled all permission for the app. Some drivers complain of slightly shorter phone battery duration because Bluetooth is always on.

In sum:

We have reduced at fault accidents by up to 76%, and nearly eliminated aggressive driving. The Cellcontrol team does a great job supporting their product. They are always helpful & professional when we need support. Distracted driving is a real problem. I highly recommend Cellcontrol for businesses, families, and everyone looking to be safer behind the wheel.

May 25, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Ashley S.

«Company Review»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The ability to track location on employees.

Drawbacks:

It blocks more than just the phone it is assigned to block

May 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Joshua D.

«Easily keeping everyone safe»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

This product is easy to install and difficult to circumvent

Drawbacks:

I would like the cell control devise to replace my GPS locators in their entirety ( since cell control needs to be connected to an enrolled phone to communicate)

May 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
James O.

«Service leader»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Makes our employees safe while working around the public

Drawbacks:

Nothing really. The software is straight forward.

April 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Will B.

«Cellcontrol Usage»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

For what we are using the product for, Cellcontrol is far easier to implement. The alternative requires hardware connected directly to vehicle OBD ports. In some cases, this has actually caused problems with vehicle on board software which the manufacturer blamed on the device itself. When you have the ability to mount the device to the windshield the solar cell removes practically all maintenance concerns of individual vehicles. There simply needs to be a routine check on battery power which can be done via the web-based console.

Drawbacks:

We were hoping to integrate Cellcontrol in home brew software we are developing in house, however there was not an API available or at least not one made available to us.

April 19, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
E
Elizabeth C.

«Great tool for keeping employees safe on the road.»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It's ease of use and reporting templates

Drawbacks:

Sometimes when it takes awhile for CC to identify that a driver is no longer driving and therefore keeps the phone on drive mode.

In sum:

Our experience has been great other then the issues above.

April 14, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Paul B.

«Cellcontrol Review»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

The software was easy to configure and install.

Drawbacks:

Not capable to also serve as a GPS tracking device.

In sum:

Customer service has been very responsive and easy to deal with.

April 11, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Blaine M.

«Very effective option to enforce safe driving.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Does what it is designed to do. The fact that it only affects the users phone when in a company vehicle and not in other or personal vehicles. It is very effective in blocking texting and calling without hands free while driving.

Drawbacks:

There is a big difference between the IOS and Android version of the software. The Android version is easier on the client i feel.

March 30, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Excellent app!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Helps protect drivers from getting distracted and keeps them focused on the road. Still allows the ability to make and receive calls via Bluetooth as well as use navigation while traveling (must be set up prior to driving).

Drawbacks:

As technology changes rapidly, app has a lot of updates to keep up.

In sum:

Excellent! Our at fault 3rd party incidents have gone down significantly and driver behavior change is measurable. Fantastic customer service!

March 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Samantha W.

«Easy to use and great data!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Easy to install, great data comes from the tracking devices and is user friendly to access for multiple users.

Drawbacks:

Charging of the units in the vehicles is unclear and not the easiest to plug in.

In sum:

Staff have been easy to reach for training for new managers and staff. Reports are easy to access and detailed. Alert emails are great for making sure all employees are compliant.

March 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Robust solution to controlling distracted driving»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The solution allows us to control how the drivers can or cannot interact with devices when in motion.

Drawbacks:

There really are not any major concerns with the solution

In sum:

Cellcontrol has been great to work with on our two site deployments. I would reccomend this solution to companies looking to reduce distracted driving.

March 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
N
Neil V.

«Useful Tech to prevent Distracted Driving»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

If you have the APP correctly installed, it works as marketed.

Drawbacks:

- Latest CC software version restricted the Apple Maps; cannot move the map position; change any itinerary while vehicle is in motion. - ANY cellcontrol unit on ANY other non-company truck WILL knock off our cellcontrolled phones, even if You are standing or parked near the cellcontrol truck passing. -

In sum:

Block distracted driving due to company issues cell phones. Has achieved results.

March 23, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Chris T.

«Review»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of use and cost. Great customer service.

Drawbacks:

You have to install the program on each device. Would be nice to just block cell phone use without having to install app.

In sum:

Very good

March 20, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Managing Commercial Drivers»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

This is easy to use and easy to manage from the back office.

Drawbacks:

After 2 years I have no complaints about the software.

In sum:

The customer service and technical departments of Cellcontrol are very professional and stand behind their product.

March 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Pros and Cons»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ability to track driving history,ensures drivers are not using phone while driving,ability to see how well or bad you are driving

Drawbacks:

software on phone has issues while using navigation, does not always record trips, updates do not always go through using IPones, having to make sure that users keep certain services on for reporting to work correctly

In sum:

We are accomplishing being able to track the location of our drivers as well as their driving habits. We are also ensuring ourselves that they are unable to use the phone while driving except for what is allowed.

March 13, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
N
Nick P.

«Acessability»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

I enjoy the software for my team. It is easy to install and use. I enjoy the safety mechanisms that are offered and the up to date emails to let me know if any of my guys turned their app off.

Drawbacks:

The app sometimes freezes up the phone and the drivers need to restart their phone.

In sum:

I feel the safety of my drivers has increased. Our company strives to offer the best service and our drivers are a reflection of our company.

March 8, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Kaija J.

«Makes safe driving possible»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Cell control makes staying handsfree easy. It does all of the work so my guys aren't tempted to answer the phone or text someone while driving. I also like how the device is solar powered.

Drawbacks:

The app installation is a bit cumbersome.

In sum:

Makes our guys mindful of thier cellphone use in the car.

February 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Matthew K.

«Cellcontrol Review»

Usability

Support

Features

2

Overall rating

Benefits:

Tracking capabilities, seeing the driver score

Drawbacks:

Lag time to get access to phone. Sometimes it's 10 seconds other 30

February 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Keith D.

«CellControl Experience»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

It does block use of the phone when all installation procedures and configurations are followed.

Drawbacks:

There are issues with the software when vendors update their OS. I thought developers got advanced copies of iOS and Android to test their software against.

In sum:

Cellcontrol is a good product. It is cumbersome to configure and ideally it would be nice to have an all-in-one GPS, CellControl solution.

February 20, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Jeff C.

«Cell Control Review»

Usability

Support

Features

3

Overall rating

Benefits:

I like the safety aspects of the system when it works.

Drawbacks:

The app is intermittent and doesn't always block phone from use while driving.

In sum:

When the system works it eliminates the temptation to use phone while driving, which makes the driver focus on driving and not distracted by the phone. When it doesn't work it causes driver to wonder why and try to fix it, which is a distraction in itself and then the app becomes exactly what it is supposed to be stopping.

February 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Jeffrey A.

«Great product on Android devices. Apple devices do not play well with Cell Control.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Very easy to use from an admin perspective.

Drawbacks:

Apple devices do not play well with Cell Control.

In sum:

Significant reduction in at fault accidents. Android devices work flawlessly with Cell Control. Apple needs to allow 3rd party vendors to work with their devices more easily.

February 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Tom C.

«Cell Control Project Manager Assessment»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Functions and features work to limit distracted driving as advertised.

Drawbacks:

Passenger mode override is cumbersome for some users.

In sum:

Lower level of reported incidents involving vehicles. Two hands on the wheel and eyes on the road is the key to know your surroundings while driving. Cell Control modifies driver behavior behind the wheel.

February 13, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Chris N.

«Tech»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

from a manager view I love the safety features.

Drawbacks:

From a tech side sometimes getting a call with Bluetooth it will hang up in your call

In sum:

It's a fantastic product

February 8, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
B
Bill P.

«cell control experience»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

You get alerts if any thing is tampered with.

Drawbacks:

Haven't seen any issues yet, sometimes they need a battery recharge if sitting in a dark shop idle for a while but that is simple maintenance.

In sum:

It's a great way to assure your fleet is driving safe, some of our techs find it to be aggravating but it only takes seconds of distraction to have an accident. Since in place we have had 0 accidents as a result of distracted driving, money well spent!

February 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
S
Sal L.

«It works as advertised.»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It effectively blocks all access to telephone and texting functions. Since we use a PTT app for our two-way communications, CellControl worked with us to allow that app to run.

Drawbacks:

Because we operate in rural areas where the PTT app does not work, blocking telephone and texting is sometimes a hindrance.

In sum:

Having CellControl in our vehicles allows us to deal with employees who have violated our zero tolerance policy regarding cell phone usage beyond termination. It also gives us an alternative to dedicating costly man-hours trying to enforce the policy.

February 5, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Justin B.

«Cell Control, »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

blocking communication while i am driving keeps my mind on the road.

Drawbacks:

drains battery on phone and causes apps to be open constantly.

In sum:

in conjunction with CellControl we have drive cam, i have noticed a decreased amount of triggered videos, I attribute that to cellcontrol

January 31, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Matt G.

«Cell Control for Work Vehicles»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

It consistently blocks apps we do not want our drivers using while in motion

Drawbacks:

Sometimes it's frustrating trying to switch between navigation and music apps.

In sum:

It does wht we expect it to do. Helps keep our drivers from texting or emailing while driving.

January 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Adam D.

«Cellcontrol is the most feature rich, but with at a cost»

Usability

Support

Features

3

Overall rating

Benefits:

It includes both the ability to block phones and laptops.

Drawbacks:

They discontinued the OBDII prodcut, you are not locked into a much more expensive recurring contract, their support took months to resolve an issue regarding repetitive alerts, their web portal changes frequently and can be cumbersome to use, and it requires a lot of maintenance to stay on top of. There are solutions out there that do individual parts of what cellcontrol does better.

January 23, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Works great and costs little!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

This software blocks our phone use in our vehicles wonderfully.

Drawbacks:

Sometimes the reporting can be tricky to figure out. It'd be nice if we could dial into some reports a little better.

January 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Kimberly S.

«Company screwed us!»

Usability

Support

Features

1

Overall rating

Benefits:

It did it's job the years we were able to use it. Now we are not allowed that opportunity!

Drawbacks:

Awkward software and not user friendly. Could use improvements.

In sum:

This company that took over Cell Control completely screwed regular families that use the cell control device for teens cars. We bought the device in 2017 with a lifetime membership. We used it in our sons car for 2 years and then went to install in our daughters car and put the app on her phone. Well there is no app anymore because this company decided to just screw all families and only focus on businesses. So forget all those people that bought lifetime memberships in the years past. Businesses watch out, they may do the same to you in the future!

January 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Meliss C.

«Rear End Collisions Cut In Half»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

The software was pretty easy to learn. We like the fact that if one of our vehicles/devices are not in compliance, our management team gets an alert. We also use this to verify an employee was not using a device if they happen to be involved in an auto accident.

Drawbacks:

If we did have a question on how to pair the device to the software, it was hard to reach someone to help us over the phone.

In sum:

Even with the lack of customer service that we experienced in the beginning, the benefits far outweighed the trouble reaching someone. The first year we put Cellcontrol in place, we had 50% less at-fault, rear end collisions with our fleet of 150+ vehicles on the road. The only factor that was changed was adding Cellcontrol, so that has to be the reason.

January 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
t
thomas h.

«Safe is best»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

there is no getting around system, it blocks 100% all the time.

Drawbacks:

not sure why some trips are cut short or start in middle. I think my men turn on and off there phones

In sum:

very efficient and complete

January 7, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Game Changer for Eldeco»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease of use and Setup plus passenger mode for non-driving employees

Drawbacks:

Sensitivity with the system disconnecting when not in motion. Have gotten use to it now

In sum:

Perfect fit for us!

January 5, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Tommy M.

«Cell Control is Great»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The online dashboard is so easy to use and a great tool for tracking data. We used it to create funny mini games to track key indicators

Drawbacks:

The software requires an install into employees actual phone system rather than just through use of an app or other device

January 4, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Mark T.

«Wonderful sales»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Account is very simple to set up and administer from the portal, love it.

Drawbacks:

Would like some options to easier whitelist a few apps, but not a major issue.

In sum:

Overall it is great. Our goal is to remove as much distraction from our fleet drivers as possible and this is one of the best ways to do that. I have been using it for about 7 months now and my experience is great. I just get in the car and drive and don't even think about what my phone might be doing or where it is. All about focus on the road.

January 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet

Reviews of similar software