All reviews of RevenueCat

Read recent reviews and users’ true-life stories RevenueCat. Due to the customer feedback, you will learn more about the benefits and drawbacks of the service, in terms of operability, usability, technical support and a lot more.

Y
Yasarcan K.

«Must Use!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It's very easy to use. Charts are wonderful.

Drawbacks:

RevenueCat needs to support Huawei Android Market. Price Experiments needs to added in Analyze package.

In sum:

I love RevenueCat and happy to use it.

September 26, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Z
Zaur M.

«Not all features used yet, but I like RC.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

- simple to integrate - good AppStore IAP support (didn't used Android side yet) - quick support team responses (I am very appreciated, guys! Keep it up!) - good documentation - most cases are described, even StoreKit testing - RC is mature comparing to counterparts, hence RC has more features implemented than counterparts

Drawbacks:

- not all corner cases covered, but not critical as we realised

In sum:

I've tried to use some counterparts, but eventually decided to use RC owing to accessibility and good functionality.

September 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
J
Jamie M.

«Why would you use anything else?»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

To successfully manage iOS App Store subscriptions, you need to have a server component. You can roll your own solution and troubleshoot and support it, or you can use Revenue Cat for free (up until $10k/mth revenue). You get access to a Dashboard and all of the essentials services for subscriptions, and if you want detailed reports, you can pay a nominal amount for access. Using Swift Package Manager, it easily integrated into an existing Objective C codebase, without requiring third party package managers.

Drawbacks:

Would be nice to have access to reports in the free tier, but not unreasonable to only have the dashboard.

September 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
R
Robin C.

«Life saver»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

RevenueCat is easy to use and well documented. Highly recommend.

Drawbacks:

It'd be great if there's an app version.

September 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Chris E.

«This is so easy»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

So much easier than setting subscriptions up yourself. And for a small developer it is free until you start making real money! What a great model

Drawbacks:

Maybe I have not been using it long enough, but I can find nothing so far that I feel needs to be improved

September 11, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
U
Usman B.

«RevenueCat is the Best Cat »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The best thing about using RevenueCat was ease of use. The documentation is so well written. Moreover the helpful auto emails during the integration process helped me a lot ok every step.

Drawbacks:

So far so good. Nothing bad about the product yet. Only concern is what if Apple someday decides to stop third parties from handling IAP. What will be the get out plan from RevenueCat

In sum:

Overall experience is really satisfying. I mean implementing IAP in less than 6 hours is amazing. I can spend this else where in the development process.

August 30, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Dakota M.

«Easy and fast integration!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Integrating with RevenueCat on an existing app was insanely easy. We use Firebase for our backend and we're able to seamlessly drop in RevenueCat and just had to change some logic to work with their entitlements. The receipt validation and IAPs were extremely easy to setup with the documentation they offer.

Drawbacks:

The only thing I didn't like (which was very miniscule) was that there isn't a way to sandbox data like the amount of app installs. You can sandbox purchases but there is some data that is universal between production and sandbox I would like to keep sperate. This is overall splitting hairs though and is more of a "if I had to" type con atleast to me.

August 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
L
Luis G.

«Easy to set up and run»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It simplifies the implementation of IAP, abstracting the difficulties of each platform (Apple, Google).

Drawbacks:

The price of the webhook feature is a little high, I think.

In sum:

We've implemented our IAP with RC, and we've deployed it at Apple Store. Take a look at [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]

August 24, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
N
Niels H.

«RevenueCat Evaluation»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The ease of use to plug directly into our Flutter Application.

Drawbacks:

The Charting with Churn Reporting is completly broken. We've been keeping track of every cancellation and failed payment internally and we have drastictly different numbers on the daily numbers. Because of this our subscription count will jump up and down on the dashboard and show weird daily numbers that start off for the previous day way higher that it should be and then reduce down to where they should be in a day or two. We love RevenueCat and what it gives us and as a startup ourself, we understand growing pains. We have a internal meme that there is someone at RC is manually adding the numbers and doing it wrong and then on Mondays someone else is manually adjusting them! All in good fun!

In sum:

We love the value that RevenueCat has brought us. It's honestly saved us thousands of man hours if we had not used them. During covid-19 our business has been hit hard and had to get rid of other services but RevenueCat we never one them we thought we could do without.

August 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
H
Harry K.

«Great platform for integrating subscriptions into your iOS app.»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

RevenueCat makes it easy to keep track of receipts, and I also enjoy using the metrics recorded as a basis for future decisions.

Drawbacks:

Nothing serious that I don't like. But, if I were to nitpick, the charts could use an UI refresh. They're looking a little old.

In sum:

It's been great, no problems so far.

August 8, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«I Need RevenueCat»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I have to chose 1 thing? I can't. 1. I love how you built this for hardworking app developers. You saw the unmet need and you filled it with love. 2. I love your response from your team when I have a question or problem. 3. I love how you offer a very affordable service and when we want more features you hook us so we have to pay more but we like it ;)

Drawbacks:

Better communication with Apple when we update our price of subscription. Have that reflect on our charts side.

In sum:

Over all I am 100% happy. I can continue to be happy when you keep iterating as we all must in the subscription world.

July 30, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Tyler K.

«Easy Setup For First Time App Developer»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The software was super easy to implement. This is the first iOS app I ever created and scraped my way through countless tutorials to get here. My app was ready to launch but I was overwhelmed by payments. I want to do it manually but found it way to confusing. I heard about RevenueCat and thought it was too good to be true. I followed the QuickStart guide and had it up and running in a couple days. Now I've sold my first in app purchases and this is the first time in my development career I've made money from my code.

Drawbacks:

There was no SwiftUI example app at the time I was using the docs. I know there is now, also more detail for app extensions would be helpful.

July 18, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Douglas P.

«Disappointed in the basics»

Usability

Support

Features

2

Overall rating

Benefits:

It does have a free trial that is functional and allows us an opportunity to evaluate

Drawbacks:

Absolutely crap reporting functions unless you pay them for the monthly service and no integrations worth anything unless you shell out 500+ a month in fees

In sum:

Liked it at first but it is souring on me quickly

July 17, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Revenue Cat is Awesome»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It takes a super complicated purchases API of Apple and makes it a breeze to work with

Drawbacks:

None so far. We have not found any issues so far

In sum:

Enabling In App Purchases for my Apps

July 9, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
David J.

«Critical for running my subscription business»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Just works - provides server-side software and client-side APIs the Apple and Google should provide but don't. Useful charts Supports iOS, Android and many integrations It just works! No drama.

Drawbacks:

Nothing comes to mind. It does its job well.

In sum:

Happy customer!

June 29, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Karthik K.

«Easy to use and well documented, great value for money»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

- Ease of integration - Documentation - Support

Drawbacks:

- Product setup (entitlements, packages etc) is quite confusing

In sum:

Great

June 15, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Y
Ying Z.

«RevenueCat is the goto solution for in-app purchases»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Significantly saves effort on building in-app purchases.

Drawbacks:

They haven't deployed SSL Pinning to avoid MitM attack, I would suggest doing that as soon as possible.

In sum:

I spent only a few days to implement the entire purchase workflow for my app, including UI and logic. They even provide a nice checklist for launching, which seems really handy. Also, I enjoy using their website, it's so well made.

June 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
K
Kirill G.

«Great way to start with subscriptions »

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Easy way to start with monetisation without having the server for subscriptions

Drawbacks:

A bit more analytics would be great. I wouldn't expect it in free plan though.

May 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
S
Saurabh B.

«Awesome product that reduces the development time for implementing in-app purchases drastically»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

- Decent documentation - Easy to use and implement. - The free pricing tier truly takes the risk out of implementing this software.

Drawbacks:

- None so far. I have been using them for a month now and yet to face any issues. - Documentation examples could certainly use some improvement.

May 16, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Volodymyr Y.

«Top-class product»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Super easy integration, saved me a lot of time.

Drawbacks:

There are no cons. I would definitely recommend RevenueCat.

May 10, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
D
Dong W.

«RevenueCat is a saver for Indie mobile developers if they don't want invest time on backend.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

For iOS subscription, you have to use backend server to verify receipt, but for many Indie iOS developer who don't have experience on backend server, RevenueCat is a saver. If RevenueCat don't change the price for starter Indie developer, like revenue below $100,000 / month, RevenueCat will not charge for the user, I will thank for RevenueCat understand the situation of starter Indie developer. If one day, I can get revenue more than $100,000/month, I will definitely pay for the good service for RevenueCat.

Drawbacks:

Hope more display information on Dashboard for free version.

In sum:

So far so good.

May 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Asher H.

«Great Product, but a Little Expenisve for New Companies»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Was pretty straightforward setting things up for the most part, but every time I ran into a problem support was always willing to help. Was a very good experience.

Drawbacks:

Pricing seems a little high for the tier above free especially when you aren't sure how well your app is going to succeed.

April 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
G
Giles H.

«A simple, solid tool for managing in-app purchases»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

A simple, solid service. It does just what you need. Makes handling the App Store simple.

Drawbacks:

Further help with managing non-renewing subscriptions would be good.

In sum:

It made it easy to add in-app purchases to Frames.

April 5, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«Exactly what I needed!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I like how the setup is very easy and fast, and it has all the feature I needed especially the one source of truth. I am currently using it for free, and thats a major plus as my app grow and sales grow I will be joining the paid plan which is very fair considering the benefits and the revenue I will be making. Having react-native library was a major plus for me as well.

Drawbacks:

Nothing, really. If I had to say something I would say that when I tested on sandbox, I experienced some delays for test users to show on the dashboard, but that is not really a major issue and most of the time its working just fine.

April 2, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Asher K.

«Good to manage subscription billiong»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

We like the fact that it saves us from building out our own subscription management system. It has enabled us to focus a lot more on helping our customers succeed.

Drawbacks:

Reporting can be improved and additionally more integrations can be made available for a lower fee for indie developers.

April 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
S
Simon P.

«A must have for cross platform indie developers»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Super easy integration and saved months of development time for cross platform subscriptions. The SDK also helps out tremendously when doing customer support. And it saves a bunch of time when building support for new subscription features or when configuring products. Signing up for RevenueCat was one of the best things I have done for my company!

Drawbacks:

The charts are a bit slow to update and don't seem to be accurate when it comes to revenue from countries that have VAT added to the price. For example, the revenue from countries like Sweden, where I have a large percentage of my customers, is reported as having a take home percentage of 70%. The real number is around 55% due to VAT, so the charts are inflated.

March 28, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
An N.

«Good service»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

This product help me save time for manage subscriptions. Easy setup.

Drawbacks:

Im feeling all good until now. I will use this for my next products

March 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Alexandre C.

«Great service so far»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Super easy set up with clear documentation and good SDK, subscription was integrated in a few hours. Makes developing subscription-based apps a breeze!

Drawbacks:

Basic analytics and customer filters are disabled for the free version of there service

March 15, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«ProsCons»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Easy to use, easy integration, good platform

Drawbacks:

You don't have any official app for checking statistics.

March 1, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
C
Chad M.

«An amazing service for facilitating the development of StoreKit-enabled apps»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

I give RevenueCat a truly enthusiastic recommendation. Apple does not make it easy to get up and running with StoreKit-enabled apps; RevenueCat eliminates all the pain from developing those apps, cutting out months of development time. Not only is the service exemplary, but so is their documentation and their customer service, even for their lowest-level "Build" plan. The RevenueCat team know they are investing in the future of those who use RevenueCat, so they provide prompt, professional support to RevenueCat's users. I can recommend RevenueCat without reservation. Don't pass up the opportunity to use this exemplary service!

Drawbacks:

I can't think of anything I dislike about the service- it's really that good.

February 27, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Svyatoslav R.

«Great for startup»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It's an easy-to-integrate and powerful product for adding in-app purchases to your app

Drawbacks:

I still don't have cons about RevenueCat

February 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
V
Verified Reviewer

«A good tool but still need lots of work»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

We decided to use revenuecat in order to have "one ring to rule them all" for our IoS and Android app to manage our products and subscriptions. It works fine (most of the times) and takes away that burden from us.

Drawbacks:

The key points that come to my mind are: - Calculated revenue is wrong! It does not match the actual app revenue since it does not take into account neither the day of the purchase exchange for the currency and also automatically uses USD dollars for everything - When some events happens RevenueCat is often quite slow in contacting our APIs to tell us about it. I reckon it might be due to the Store updates but still want to mention this since often it gave us problems in sync subscriptions purchases - Sometimes support has taken even 4-7 days to answer our emails and we had to ping them

In sum:

Ok, could be much better but still the tradeoff between implementing everything and relying on it is still worth it

February 19, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Mehmet Emin G.

«Good Job ! Thanks for developing such a good experience for us.»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Implementation of subscription type of in-app payment actions actually hard to handle in long-term and the server-side of such an implementations also really time taking actions for small businesses like ours. So, RevenueCat provides really good way to handle in-app payments and it is easy implement. I really like that.

Drawbacks:

The user interface and the analysis part can be improved.

In sum:

It is really good, I really like the coming emails from the RevenueCat team. Product is really good from technical perspective but especially the charts can be more cool :) I hope you guys won't get offended but they look really old. I hope the analysis also will be improved in the future. I am in a small team but me and my business partners will continue using RevenueCat and also for the projects that we will be develop in the future. We are again considering using RevenueCat.

February 18, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Mahmoud S.

«Great for Startups»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

It's really easy to implement. It has great features such as defining offers from the Console and push them to clients with just one click! I really like it, and recommend it. Thanks to RevenuCat team for their Service.

Drawbacks:

It's great, no Cons! But if there's a way to send Promotional subscription to users who don't subscribe to the app. I mean if I (the owner of the app) want to send a gift to a user, I could send them a promotional subscription for 3 months for example using the RevenuCat console.

In sum:

It saves my time, by two days you can integrate the service into your app by testing all cases and using all their features! If you need to implement them without using a SaaS, you need more than 1 month (with a bunch of bugs:))

February 14, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Maciej L.

«no brainer for small mobile app»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

- easy setup for a developer - i did it a long time ago and since then it works perfectly - dashboard with charts that i check almost daily to have an idea of how many users we have on trials/how is the app performing. - MOST IMPORTANT: i can instantly see if the new version converts users to a paid plan better.

Drawbacks:

- there are bugs in the iOS iAPs, so it's hard to point where the fault is, but some of our users complain that they can't restore purchases on their second device. RevCat support suggested they can remove the app and redownload - and that helps... but it is a lot of work for a new user.

In sum:

when i started building our app RevCat was a no-brainer. now, when we grow and have $30k revenue monthly, the product starts to be a little bit pricy. in the future, we may consider building our own system and use native apple api. what could hold us at RevCat is a possibility to reach to users who cancel their paying plan and send a push notification with a special offer.

February 6, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Sudipto P.

«Using RevenueCat server from app inception to release to the App Store»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

The integration mechanism into swift code base is detailed in RevenueCat docs. This made it possible to successfully integrate it. It is very helpful that testing in the sandbox is possible using a sandbox user

Drawbacks:

The concepts of Entitlements, Offerings, Products is difficult to memorize. It's good that RevenueCat has readily available detailed documentation to cover these concepts

In sum:

The integration is stable. Once coded, I seldom need to revisit it. So, it's now a seamless experience for my users and the app

February 5, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
T
Trond E.

«Excellent, would absolutely recommend!»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Very easy to use, did really like how they made a complicated process easy to integrate in apps. The SDK and documentations is just awesome with good written articles, examples, tutorials and also great youtube tutorial videos for getting started. Integrating in app purchasing/subscription in apps is a big hassle, a lot of stuff must be implemented in backend/frontend and must be 100% stable. RevenueCat just fix all that hassle for you so you can use your time on the important stuff, creating apps. It's free until you reach 10k USD/month, I would gladly pay for this service when reaching that amount and maybe do it sooner to access the extra features they provide.

Drawbacks:

The concept of Entitlements, Offerings and Products was not so self explaining at start and I had to read the documentation to understand it. However after integrating it into my apps I understand why it's very good way to go.

January 28, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Carlos Eduardo G.

«Excellent!»

Usability

Support

Features

4

Overall rating

Benefits:

Ease to integrate Removes a lot of boiler plate code Makes it possible to track and validate purchases for AppStore without backend Can track the user (purchaser) by ID, which is not possible in native in app purchase libs

Drawbacks:

It would be great if the pricing plans could be adjusted to other countries.

January 25, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
A
Andor D.

«Don't look further»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Trying to implement subscription handling on my own was a time consuming mess. You have to learn multiple platforms and stay up to date if anything changes. After discovering RevenueCat I had my subscription handling in my React Native app up in a couple hours. Just amazing!

Drawbacks:

I think a more detailed pricing section would be good, I had to email you guys to ask if it's really free for so long.

In sum:

Just amazing, everything just works as expected. No complaints.

January 22, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
M
Michael N.

«Quick and Convenient»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

As an app developer, I ran into several nuances with how different platforms have different requirements for processing payments. RevenueCat made it easy to implement In-App payments in a time when I was pressed for time. I also use Stripe and will be implementing Google Play IAP when they force it in fall 2020. RevenueCat makes it easy to combine all subscriptions into a nice dashboard where I can go to see and manage all of my subscriptions regardless of the platform.

Drawbacks:

I somewhat struggle with the thought of paying a small percentage of my revenue rather than paying a flat, monthly rate. Currently, with revenue so low, RevenueCat is definitely worth it. As revenue increases, I may have to consider implementing some of these webhooks myself to manage my own subscriptions.

In sum:

Fantastic! Customer service has been incredible. Very impressed by the dashboards and the SDKs that you can use to implement into your app. I am honestly amazed and would highly recommend them.

January 21, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Z
Zafer K.

«App Subscription Business»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Fast and easy implementation. Reliable in many aspects.

Drawbacks:

For big companies no problem at all but when you think of a startup and integration with other third parties you must pay for it. And the payment is not affordable for startups.

January 4, 2021
Feedback source: the Internet
Oskar K.

«Flutter App Development w/ RevenueCat»

Usability

Support

Features

5

Overall rating

Benefits:

Implementing custom billing structures that are reliable and secure is difficult. When building our app, RevenueCat made the implementation process much easier. It allowed us to quickly implement subscriptions and in-app purchases with Apple and Google Play.

Drawbacks:

Since I've been working with this software (for 3 months now). I have not encountered any problems, and if so, the support team was quick to help me solve them.

In sum:

I am very satisfied with this service and hope to use it for the next years to come.

December 10, 2020
Feedback source: the Internet

Reviews of similar software